George_Wolfe_Web_Site.pngSenior Consultant

It is difficult to describe how much of a legend George Wolff is in the Pennsylvania public affairs world and, frankly, he will be the last person to ever admit it.  Suffice to say that if it is happening in the world of agriculture, transportation or conservation and George doesn’t know it, it is probably not worth knowing.

George is a true public affairs professional, toiling in the fields of agriculture and conservation since 1953. Over the years, he has also had a hand in workers compensation reform, business tax reductions, the statewide nutrient reduction program and water resources legislation.  Presently, he is leading the fight for funding for the road and bridge construction industry, while still keeping a close eye on food and product safety protection issues, as well as product liability reform.

First appointed when Pennsylvania joined the Chesapeake Bay Commission in the 1980 and reappointed since by the President Pro Tempore of the Pennsylvania State Senate, George is the public member on the commission.  He is also a member of the Pennsylvania Farm Bureau, and a legislative committee member of the Pennsylvania State Grange. He is a former a member of the Board of Directors for Millers Mutual Insurance Company and as a past president of the Pennsylvania Association of Conservation Districts.  He was instrumental in coordinating a group which proposed recommendations for the management of the state’s water resources through regional and statewide management committees working in cooperation with the river basin commissions.

George has also been active with organizations which promote the responsible stewardship of Pennsylvania’s water resources. In December 2003, he was appointed by Governor Rendell to the Statewide Water Resources Committee and in 2005 to the Pennsylvania Energy Advisory Board.

Not content to work solely in public affairs, George has owned and operated farms in Lebanon County for over forty years, where he practiced an intensive grain rotation program. He attended Purdue University, majoring in animal husbandry. From 1954 to 1960, George served as the Director of Agricultural Relations for the Pennsylvania Motor Truck Association.

In February 2002, Governor Mark Schweiker appointed George to the Agricultural By-Product Management Technology Board. At the behest of Governor Dick Thornburgh in the early years of his administration, George served as co-chairman of the “Vote Yes for Water” Committee, a public relations effort aimed at passage of a state water referendum funding issue to establish PennVest. He served at Governor Robert Casey’s request as a member of a select committee to develop regulations for a nutrient management program which resulted in Act 6 of 1993. Additionally, at Governor Casey’s request, George served as treasurer for a statewide water initiative. Under former Environmental Protection Agency Secretary William Ruckelshaus, George served on a national non-point source committee to design programs for the joint involvement of the EPA and the USDA. George also served on the National Agricultural Research and Extension Users Advisory Board to develop recommendations on budget and program priorities for research, higher education and extension in the food and agricultural sciences.

George has also served as a member of the National Agricultural Advisory Board, a past President of the Pennsylvania Association of Conservation District Directors, a member of the State Conservation Commission, a member of the Lebanon County Conservation District, a member of the Board of Directors for the Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay, and Chairman of the Jackson Township Zoning Hearing Board.

In July of 2005 George received the Distinguished Service Award from the State Conservation Commission and in September 2005 received the Fran Flanigan award from the Alliance for the Chesapeake Bay. He has received numerous other awards including the Jefferson Award for Outstanding Public Service Benefiting Local Communities, the University of Pennsylvania School of Veterinary Medicine’s Centennial Award of Merit for Outstanding Contributions to the Advancement of Veterinary Medicine, the Izaak Walton League of America Chesapeake Bay Conservation Award, and several other conservation service awards.